Vulpe’s Fishy Homemade Food

P1080005

I’m always try to think of ways to help Vulpe stay as healthy as can be, and as a vegan, to minimise the negative impacts of buying commercial pet foods on animal welfare, animal testing, the environment, etc…. I also need to balance this with my budget, and the fact that Vulpe will sooner go on hunger strike than eat kibble these days. Lately, Vulpe’s been eating a combination of cooked fish and vegetables and that seems to be working well, but I wanted to try and keep the fish to a minimum, and make more of the fresh local veg that I get every week in my veg box.

I looked up a few recipes online and cooked up this fishy dish, which Vulpe is absolutely loving. It’s gluten free, and contains brown rice and lentils, though you could use another grain (such as quinoa, which is a complete protein) if you prefer.

In any case, I thought I would share – this is a lower-budget friendly and healthy food for your pooch(es) that you can make in advance. Vulpe loves hers heated up just a little…..

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (dry) brown rice
  • 1/2 cup uncooked lentils
  • 3 cups chopped, uncooked dog-friendly vegetables
  • a few sprinkles dog-friendly herbs
  • 2 fish fillets (I used mackerel)
  • 2 tbsp cold pressed rapeseed (canola) oil

Cook the rice and lentils until just done, then drain and put to one side. Cook the veggies in a salt free broth (or even better, steam) until well done, then drain and mash. Mix the rice, lentils, veg and herbs together. Finally, cook and finely chop the fish and add it to the mixture with the oil.

P1060999

This has made enough food to last us quite a few days, though Vulpe is quite small and her appetite is fairly modest (my cat is the same – neither of them get this behaviour from me!)

How about you? Do you home cook for your pooches? Or struggle to feed them well on a low budget?

4 thoughts on “Vulpe’s Fishy Homemade Food

  1. I’m the opposite to you I think. I usually feed a raw diet, raw meat and bones and not much else. Spencer is on kibble at the moment as he’s going in kennels soon and I’ve found it impossible to find an affordable food that I’m really happy with. For the grain free, high meat percentage dog foods I’m looking at around 90 euros a month which is around double the cost of raw.

    I looked into home cooking for my previous dog and found too many potential downsides to consider it personally. I don’t see how it can be any worse than some of the garbage marketed as dog foods though.

    • Vulpe’s in excellent health and indeed, the food I give her is quite far removed from the garbage marketed as dog food, as well as not being worse.

      • Sorry, wasn’t trying to imply that you were feeding her garbage, I meant they’re probably a hell of a lot better off on a home cooked diet that’s been made from decent foods than on some of the rubbish found in the pet aisle in the supermarket.

        • Thanks, I appreciate the clarification. I think it’s a crime that commercial pet foods are allowed to be sold without proper regulation :/

Leave a Reply

