Homemade Gluten Free Dog Food

Ever since Vulpe came to us I’ve been itching to make a big ol’ batch of homemade food – and see if she likes it! For a while now I’ve been adding brown rice, quinoa, sweet potato, etc to her kibble, but I wanted to make a super healthy food that I can portion out and store in the freezer.

Made regularly, this is very inexpensive and easy to make! A lot of these ingredients are in my cupboards anyway, but you can buy them in pretty cheaply if you need to.

This can easily be gluten free – and in fact (despite the wholewheat flour in the first pic) I ended up using brown rice flour as an experiment…..

IMG_3235Pictured here are some of my ingredients:

And I also included various veggies:

IMG_3236Greens, carrots, sweet potato and frozen spinach.

All of the following went into my slow cooker (crockpot):

  • 1/2 cup barley
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 1/2 cup brown lentils
  • 1/2 cup whole rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup nutritional yeast
  • all of the chopped veggies
  • enough water to cover all the ingredients

I set the slow cooker to high and left it for around 5 hours, until an appealing chunky mush had formed!

IMG_3242

I then used our tremendous handheld blender to blend this into an even mushier mush. And Vulpe was on hand to see to spoon-licking duties for me!

IMG_3244

Once I had my HUGE BOWL O’ MUSH, I added organic brown rice flour until I could form a not-too-sticky dough. I then formed the dough into ‘loaves’ and baked at a reasonably low temperature, around 140C for around 45 minutes. This recipe will make around 6-8 good sized loaves.

IMG_3250

Et voila! Here is what the finished product looks like:

IMG_3253

If you’re wondering what I did with the canola oil, coconut oil and molasses, I mixed small amounts of all three with a little warm water and will use it as a gravy over the food, which will be served with some veggie kibble. The goodness (and omega oils) are best served cold! Or, they will not survive being cooked!

Of course, once the loaves were cooled, the proof would be in the pudding, so Vulpe was around to lend a paw in the tasting department…..

IMG_3255

IMG_3260A success! The plate was cleaned up in no time :)

An important note! I would not say this is a ‘complete’ dog food – for that, I would recommend adding a supplement like VegeDOG into the recipe, or the final bowl of food. Either that, or serve alongside a complete kibble :)

IMG_3265

10 thoughts on “Homemade Gluten Free Dog Food

  1. Pingback: Bad Blogger! Bad! « Spice Box of Earth

  2. Pingback: Spice Box of Earth – Bad Blogger! Bad!

  3. Excellent! Mini is intolerant to grains (aside from oats at least), also yeast supps, soy and possibly peas / corn. See her food in the cover photo at Vegan Dogs Thriving.

  4. Pingback: Bad Blogger! Bad! – Spice Box of Earth

Leave a Reply

